ABCs of tuneage

FALL ARTS PREVIEW: Follow the sonic alphabet of SF

|
(0)
The xx come in at 24 24.

emilysavage@sfbg.com

FALLS ARTS The official last day of fall is Dec. 20 (seems really late, doesn't it?). In between now and then, and in these brisk summer days leading up to the official seasonal shift, there's a wide array of noise, just waiting to burst your eardrums 'till they bleed with joy.

Here's a mnemonic device to help you remember some noteworthy upcoming shows and a few general SF music factoids. Read aloud:

A is for Apogee Sound Club, the local disjointed scrap rock band playing the Knockout, Sept. 4. www.theknockoutsf.com.

B is for Bimbo's, Bottom of the Hill, Brick and Mortar Music Hall, and the Boom Boom Room, which are all venues you should be frequenting in the city.

C is for Chromatics, driving into Mezzanine, Aug. 31. www.mezzaninesf.com.

D is for Desaparecidos, Connor Obert's reunited early Aughts post-hardcore band, hitting Bottom of the Hill, Aug. 28 and the Regency Ballroom, Aug. 29. www.regencyballroom.com

E is for 8-bit, the video game music made by acts such as Crashfaster, Minusbaby, and Awkward Terrible, who all play DNA Lounge, Aug. 26. www.dnalounge.com.

F is for festivals. Still up this fall: Hardly Strictly Bluegrass (Oct. 5-7) and Treasure Island (Oct. 13-14). www.strictlybluegrass.com

G is for Gibbard, Ben. The Death Cab For Cutie/Postal Service frontperson travels solo to the Palace of Fine Arts, Nov. 13. www.palaceoffinearts.org.

H is for Hunx and His Punx, the local bubble-gum garage pop band that just released new album, Hunx. Facebook: Hunxandhispunx.

I is for Bay Area bred torch song writer Chris Isaak, bringing croonership to the Masonic Dec. 13. www.masonicauditorium.com.

J is for Justice, the French duo returns Nov. 4 to the Warfield. www.thewarfieldtheatre.com.

K is for KUSF — still in exile; and for KALX, celebrating 50 years on air with events beginning Sept. 7. at the Rock Paper Scissors Collective. kalx.berkeley.edu.

L is for Lightning Bolt at the Rickshaw Stop, Sept. 4. www.rickshawstop.com

M is for Major Lazer's spectacle stage-show, Oct. 19 at the Fox Theater. www.thefoxoakland.com.

N is for Noothgrush, playing with New Orleans sludge band Eyehategod at Oakland Metro Opera House, Aug. 31. www.oaklandmetro.org.

O is for British electro-dance duo Orbital, at the Regency Ballroom, Sept. 24. www.theregencyballroom.com.

P is for PrankFest 4, hosted by San Francisco's punk-hardcore label, Prank Records, with Citizen's Arrest at Oakland Metro, Sept. 1 and Dropdead at Thee Parkside, Sept. 2. www.theeparkside.com.

Q is for bumping queer parties, such as Honey Soundsystem and Daytime Realness. www.honeysoundsystem.com.

Related articles

  • Fools in love

    FALL ARTS PREVIEW: The Fresh and Onlys have the record they've always dreamed of making in 'Long Slow Dance'

  • Late entries: Juan Atkins, Mykki Blanco, Corn Dog Day, more

  • Goldies 2014 Performance/Music: Brontez Purnell

    "I romanticize the outsider. There's always going to be this running theme of me versus the world."

  • Also from this author

  • Love rumbles

    Who is Charlie Megira? A Berlin rebel with a Bay Area connection

  • Down at the Rickshaw

    One of our favorite independent music venues celebrates 10 years of rockin' -- with a week of great shows

  • Rockin' New Year's Eve

    Let 2013 all hang out at these musical blasts